The State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre of Novosibirsk it is one of the main attractions of the city and is the largest theatrical building in the Russia. This musical theater is well known not only in Russia but in many countries around the world. It was built in the prewar years, the construction of the building began in 1931. It was a planned monumental building, where there were to be mass actions, demonstrations and celebrations on a large scale.
The Main Stage Theatre was also intended to carry out revolutionary holidays: columns of demonstrating workers of the Country of the Soviets, passing through the area, with banners in their hands had to go to one of the many entrances of theater and turn out on the scene.
Vehicles could be fitted on this gigantic stage, including cars and tractors. The first performance took place in 1945. The architecture of the theater was made in the style of constructivist ("avant-garde") incorporating the basic creative positions among architects in those years.
The theater building is a monument of history and architecture with the total area of the building measuring 11837.8 square meters. Theater is an extremely complex structure from the standpoint of engineering art. The most unique part of the building it is the construction of the dome with a diameter of 60 m, height of 35 m. The domed overlap without buttresses and farms was first used in the construction practice in Europe. Sprinkled within the roofing of the dome are thousands of iron flakes of sparkling silver. The spatial composition of the building is combined with powerful rhythms of pilasters, turning into the monumental portico of the main facade with twelve columns. The space between the columns of the upper galleries of the theater is filled by 16 sculptures which are copies of the works of ancient masters. The theater is also known under the name "The Siberian Coliseum" because of its architectural appearance.
During the war, the treasures of museums in Moscow and Leningrad (the Tretyakov Gallery, the Pavlovsk Palace, etc.) were stored in the building. Occasionally it was used as a stage for concerts including the Academic Symphony Orchestra of the Leningrad Philharmonic during the war.
Since October 1947, a museum was established inside the theater building. Currently, the museum exposition is closed to the public during reparations. The museum collections are formed by sections and exhibited in the foyer of the theater, as well as the square in front of it.
The repertoire of the theatre was accumulated for decades and today provides the staging of classical and contemporary works in the masterful performances of the Novosibirsk troupe. The theater specializes in a classic opera and ballet repertoire. Operas include performances of "Aida", "Boris Godunov", "Cossack Beyond the Danube", "Queen of Spades", "Faust", as well as ballets "The Nutcracker," "Swan Lake," "Spartacus" and "Le Corsaire". Concurrently there are premiere performances. In 2014, Wagner's opera "Tannhäuser" thrilled the audience. Touring activity of the theatre is extensive and includes dozens of cities and countries around the world. Currently, the theater is under renovation.
The geographical center of Russia
There are many different methods in determining the geographic center of the Russian State. Some metrics take into account the territorial waters, some only the land, some the outlying islands, and some only the continental territory. In accordance with one of the methods, the center of Russia is located in Novosibirsk and marked by the Chapel of St. Nicholas.
The Orthodox Chapel of St. Nicholas is one of the symbols of Novosibirsk and is located on the main street of the city, Red Avenue. It was funded by donations and took 6 months to build in 1914, perfectly timed to concurrently celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the laying of the railway bridge over the Ob, which began the development of the city; as well as the 300th anniversary of the Romanov Imperial Dynasty. Like many Shrines, the Chapel had suffered during Soviet times. It was restored in post-Soviet times. The foundation stone at its base was consecrated on September 21, 1991, having made a religious procession from the Cathedral of the Ascension. The revival occurred in 1993, coinciding with the Centenary of the City of Novosibirsk. Relics of St. Nicholas are stored in the Chapel.
Owing to its whiteness and location on the elevated position the Chapel of St. Nicholas looks like something wonderful and clean, consistent with the stream that surrounds it. Taking photographs inside the chapel is prohibited.
The Main Monument of Novosibirsk
The main monument of Novosibirsk is located on the main square of the city of Novosibirsk - Lenin Square. It Installed in front of the Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theatre. A statue of Lenin in the full-length made of bronze and weighs 10 tons, the entire monument reaches 6.5 meters, and the pedestal is made of polished gray granite. The architectural composition consist of several figures, the center is Lenin, from the right are a towering worker, soldier and peasant, the symbols of the revolutionary movement; from the left side are set boy and girl with a torch and wheat respectively, the symbols of the continuity of generations. The composition of the monument to Lenin is recognized as a monument to the monumental art of federal importance in 1974 and protected by the state.
Multi-figure composition of the monument gave a finished view the Square, new scaling ratios, and enriched its spatial content. The authors of the monument ensemble are Novosibirsk and Moscow architects.
Also from the monument starts one of the main central streets of the city - Lenin Street. In the park that located behind the monument often take place cultural events, festivals, exhibitions. Also in the summer from the porch Opera and Ballet Theatre for all strolling in the park plays the magnificent orchestra.
The Puppet Theater
The Novosibirsk Regional Puppet Theatre has been in the city since 1933. It opened it's first theatrical season on May 1, 1934 and in 1936, the theater became an independent creative organization.
Currently, the troupe is comprised by professional actors, graduates of the Moscow, Leningrad, and Yaroslavl Universities and the Novosibirsk Theatre Institute.
The repertoire policy of the theater is formed within the framework of the program, "Tales of the World." In the present repertoire are national dramaturgy and puppetry classics. The staff of the Novosibirsk Regional Puppet Theatre is a member of an International Organization of Puppeteers, UNIMA. The theater is party to the International and Regional Puppet Theater Festivals.
During the past few years, the creative team of the theater visited Japan, the United States and Thailand, where they took part in symposiums, seminars and, festivals of puppet ensembles throughout the world.
Today the repertoire of the theatre is comprised by more than 25 plays, including "The Adventures of Buratino", "The Scarlet Flower", "Puss in Boots", "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs," "Aladdin's Magic Lamp", "Cinderella", "The Little Mermaid" "Swineherd and Princess," "Cheburashka" and "Sleeping Beauty". In 2004 it presented the premiere performance for adults of a "Midsummer Night's Dream".
A Museum has also opened in the theater. The Museum maintains a collection of puppets from all known history represented by the performances of the repertoire in previous years. These are the most valuable archival materials, consisting of rare photographs, puppets and sketches from different theater artists in the Museum's entire history. The oldest dolls are well over 50 years old. Employees of the theater give tours to acquaint viewers with the history of the Novosibirsk Theater and provide an opportunity for the children and their parents to feel for themselves how it would be to act as performing artists and puppeteers.
Theatre tickets can be purchased at the theater box offices, as well as on the electronic ticket exchanges.
The Main Building of the Novosibirsk Technopark
The Technopark in Novosibirsk is located in the "upper zone" Akademgorodok. This elaborate building has become one of the centers of the IT-industry of Novosibirsk, as well as a recognizable symbol of the city.
The building with the two inclined towers is a part of the infrastructure of the Novosibirsk Technopark, which houses the Center for Information Technology, Data Center, IT-Company offices, exhibition hall, conference hall, a club for young technicians and the Center for collective use. In addition, the building houses a cafe and presents film screenings and exhibitions. A peculiar highlight of the building it is a transitional gallery between the towers on the thirteenth floor level with glass walls and a floor.
The main building of the Novosibirsk Technopark projects outstanding technical characteristics and has become a dominant architectural feature of Akademgorodok. The Two tall towers rising at an angle are connected by a gallery and are visible from almost anywhere in Akademgorodok. The complex of buildings, designed in glass and decorated with fountains, has become a central focal point of the Novosibirsk Scientific Center.
Address: Str. Nikolaev, 11 (Ulitsa Nikolaeva, 11)
Akademgorodok is 20 km south from the center of Novosibirsk, on the East shore of the Ob Sea. Akademgorodok is one of the major science and education centers in Russia. It is a home to dozens of research institutes and the Presidium of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (SB RAS).
Within the territory of Akademgorodok, there are more than 30 research institutes, Novosibirsk State University and other educational institutions, several cultural centers and museums, the Technopark of Novosibirsk, as well as being located near the Ob Sea. The campus of Novosibirsk State University is also located in Akademgorodok.
Akademgorodok is a special territory not only because of the scientific institutes and universities, but also due to the special intellectual atmosphere. Most of the residents here are students of NSU, scientists, technicians, teachers, descendants of the scientists-founders, and in general, people of high esteem. This atmosphere is very difficult to describe in words, this feeling can only be experienced and actually felt by walking among and speaking with the affable people of Akademgorodok.
The Ob Sea
The Ob Sea in the Novosibirsk region is an artificial body of water, located on the Ob River, in the city of Novosibirsk. At its source, the Ob River begins in the Altai at the confluence of two rivers, the Katun and the Biya. From South to North, the Ob crosses the territory of Western Siberia, flows into the Kara Sea in the Arctic Ocean. In the South of Novosibirsk, the Ob River is partitioned by a dam, which actually forms a water reservoir, resulting in the Ob Sea.
The length of the Sea from the Kamen-na-Obi town to Novosibirsk is about 220 km. The total water area reaches 1082 square kilometers, with a maximum width of 22 km, and a maximum depth of 25 m.
The Ob Sea is a favorite vacation spot not only of local residents, but also visitors to the city. It attracts visitors by its picturesque scenery and its natural fresh air, comfortable beach, night life, events and bars. Lovers of real fishing can find quiet corners resembling a postcard. Along the banks of the sea are a large number of hotels and excellent recreation centers, which are in addition to the restfull and funfilled beach. It also offers fascinating walks aboard yachts and ships, inexpensive rental of catamarans, boats and water attractions.
In the Winter, the Ob Sea is considered one of the best places in the world for winter kiting, because there are no windless days almost all year round. Because of its geographical location, the ice on the Ob Sea quickly covers with a thick layer of snow and visitors can ride on it gently and safely.
The Globe Theatre
The Novosibirsk Theater of Youth Spectator was opened July 10, 1930, the first permanent theater of the city. Since 1935, the theater settled in the new building, the House of Lenin (now the Chamber Hall of the Novosibirsk Philharmonic). After the war, the Theatre of Young People was to become again one of the leading children's theaters in the country. In the 1950's, the creative life of the theater was intense. The repertoire was constantly expanded, side by side to the classic plays were staged dramatization of prose, tales for adults, and the works of Siberian authors. The Theater was constantly looked to for new themes, ideas, and communicated with the audience regarding contemporary issues as the Theatre began to work with directors of different schools. There is a new facet of the theater, to present the same scene in all possible styles, genres and directions. Hence the name "Globe", that was given to the Theatre of Young People by Novosibirsk residents on the basis of a city wide competition in 1993.
The repertoire consists of classical and experimental, intellectual theater as well as entertaining musical performances and shows. Numerous educational and charitable projects of the theater support the idea that the "Globe" is not just a repertory theater but an aesthetic center that educates and trains the younger generation. Presented within the walls of the Theater are festivals of children's creativity, exhibitions, seminars and conferences. The Theatre Troup extensively tours, participating in prestigious theater festivals in Russia and abroad.
The Modern Building of the Novosibirsk Academic Youth Theater, "Globus" was built in 1984. The theater building has the shape of a sailboat; the windows are made in the form of illuminators. The architectural design of the building has received a silver medal at the Exhibition of Economic Achievements of the USSR in 1989.
The Bugrinsky Bridge
The Bugrinsky Bridge in Novosibirsk is the third in a row of bridges crossing the Ob River within the city and the longest bridge in Siberia. Construction of the Bugrinsky Bridge in Novosibirsk began in 2010 and ended in 2014. The length of the bridge is 5.48 km, of which the total length of the bridge across the Ob River - 2,091 km. The length of river bed arch span of the bridge is 380 m; the arch height is 70 meters, which makes this bridge unique in the world of bridge construction. Deliveries of materials for the construction of the bridge was carried out by five factories for the production of steel structures, nine research institutes from across the country attended in the design process.
Bugrinsky Bridge is one of the most beautiful bridges not only in Siberia, but also in Russia as a whole. Its building caused a sensation among the engineers and designers all over the world because of his unique design and construction solutions. The bridge has become one of the major attractions in Novosibirsk. It makes an indelible impression on visitors of the city. Several photos of the bridge in Novosibirsk from different perspectives are presented in the guidebooks and are available for tourists.
The total weight of the bridge is 27,000 tons. Scarlet arch of the bridge weighs more than 3,500 tons. The total length of the stretched steel shrouds is more than 9 kilometers.
The largest concert organization in Russia, the Novosibirsk State Philharmonic Society, was founded in 1937. The Novosibirsk Philharmonic has several concert halls and a lot of collectives. The Chamber Hall of Philharmonic on the Red Avenue located in the famous building, the former House of Lenin, is in the heart of the city. This hall, which was opened in 1925, was renovated in 1944, and the building has acquired a modern look. This house was built as a house-monument to the leader of the revolution, there was even a copy of the Mausoleum at the top. The Chamber Hall of the Novosibirsk Philharmonic has 400 seats. Besides the main hall in the building there is a Music Gallery and Music Room, which also hosts concerts of the Novosibirsk Philharmonic Society. Behind the Philharmonic is situated a very cozy "Monument to the Heroes of the Revolution".
The State Concert Hall named Arnold Katz is the main hall of the Novosibirsk Philharmonic, and was the first area in the history of Novosibirsk with such roominess that it was built specifically for the concerts of classical music. The total hall area is 21,500 square meters; the hall is designed with a capacity for 1016 spectators. The hall is equipped with stare of the art audio equipment made in the USA, which significantly enhances the capabilities of the concert stage.
The third Philharmonic Hall is located in Akademgorodok, it is The House of Scientists. In all, the Novosibirsk Philharmonic has 8 buildings with concert venues.
In the Summer, events take place near the Philharmonic Hall Chamber such as the Music Festival "On the steps". In general, there are approximately 60 musical events.
Tickets for any philharmonic concerts can be purchased at the box offices of Philharmonic Hall.
Embankment of the River Ob
On the Embankment of the River Ob is one of the most favorite places for residents and guests to walk in Novosibirsk. On the embankment are Riverport, hotels, cafes, restaurants, attractions, as well as a rather extensive landscaped green area. On the river are mounted light-musical fountains, which are best enjoyed in the evening hours.
On the waterfront of the Ob River stands a monument to the first railway bridge. A huge monument represents a whole segment of the bridge that was saved by replacing the old structure. The only surviving span of the bridge, is the portion that was built in the years between 1893 and 1896, which was during the construction of the Trans-Siberian Railway and was turned into a memorial. Concurrently with the construction of this bridge began the history of the city of Novosibirsk. The author of the project of the bridge is an internationally renowned architect, who designed the Trinity Bridge in St. Petersburg which consisted of nine spans. One of these spans was used as the foundation of the monument. The construction of the bridge was made of several spans, which is emblematic and is historically recognized and renowned as "Russian". Incidentally, this method of assembly won the top prize at the Paris Exhibition in 1900.
Next to a fragment of the bridge located a monument to Emperor Alexander III in the so-called "The Beginning of the City Park" on the embankment of the River Ob. The total height of the monument is 13 meters and the pedestal is 8 meters (granite); with the Sculpture measuring 5 meters (bronze). The sculpture is symbolically oriented to the East.
In the Summer, the embankment plays host to festivals and concerts. In the Winter, a large ice town is built. Anyone can take a walk in the ice town among the many ice sculptures, ride the steep hills, which reach 30 meters in height, as everyone enjoys drinking hot tea in the ice hut.
The nearest bus stop is near subway station "River Station", so it's easy and comfortable to get there by the subway or by any public transport.
The Museum of Local Lore
The museum was built in 1910-1912 and was designed by the renowned architect A. D. Kryachkov. Initially, in the city of Novonikolaevsk (former Novosibirsk), the City Council and shopping areas were located. The museum was opened on August 20, 1920. During the first decades the museum was distinguished by active expedition activities and the collected wealth of ethnographic material regarding the indigenous peoples of Siberia and their cultural heritage; forming a capacious natural science collection and a library. Thanks to this museum's collections and expositions which introduced visitors to the culture of the Siberian region in all its diversity. Among the unique collections is one that discloses the spiritual culture of indigenous people and settlers, items derived from Shamanism, Lamaism and Orthodox icons.
Since the 1950's the museum participates in the annual archaeological expeditions and formed an archaeological collection with more than 50 thousand representations. Over the last decade, cooperation with the FSB archives has given a unique material, which made it possible to organize a series of exhibitions "Soviet Siberia" touches to the portrait. At present, the museum funds make up 7150 thousands units of storage, which allows updating the exposition complexes and creating new exhibitions.
Tours of the Novosibirsk regional museum has become one of the mandatory programs of tourist routes, because everyone can find an exposition for the soul, as well as be able to learn a lot about the history of Siberia and its capital. Among the most interesting are the excursions: City tour of Novosibirsk museum of local lore; Siberia. Secrets of the Past; History of Novonikolaevsk; Soviet Siberia, Novosibirsk during the Second World War, Nature in the Novosibirsk region, and others.
The Museum of Railway Technics
Located in Novosibirsk is one of the most famous museums, whose size is not measured by the number of items in it, but by the kilometers these exhibits occupy. The Novosibirsk Museum of Railway Technics is comprised of approximately three kilometers of the most incredible and rare trains, wagons and all that is connected with the railway theme.
There are only three such museums across the Country: in Novosibirsk, in St. Petersburg and near Rostov-on-Don. The Museum in Novosibirsk is the most recent and the largest. This large collection of more than 110 exhibits includes steam locomotives, diesel locomotives, electric locomotives and wagons that mostly had worked on the railways in Western Siberia.
Among the unique exhibits of the museum in Novosibirsk is a locomotive of constructor V. Lopushinsky; an armored wagon, built in 1912 for imperial persons and a hospital train with the kitchen of the Great Patriotic War period. There are also wagons of the last century. One can imagine that such wagons were used only by wealthy people. The entire wagon accommodated only 4 people. At the end of the exhibition is a wagon which was used earlier to transport prisoners. There is a cell for prisoner’s transportation inside this wagon. The separated cells held 6 or more prisoners in each of them. This wagon even had punishment cells. In addition, the museum has in its collection a legendary Soviet locomotive "LV” that was operated in 50-ies of the last century.
The museum is located in the Soviet district, next to the station Sower, which is located on the railway section Novosibirsk Berdsk.
Around the middle of 1933, on the basis of a small agricultural and biological station of Novosibirsk, was formed the West Siberian Animal Park. At the beginning of 1935 this animal park consisted of one pet's corner. To 1937, by the efforts of workers and children former garden "Alhambra" has been adapted for zoo; was replenished the composition of animals and birds, has been carried out research work. There was a zoological laboratory at the animal park. By 1937, 50 species of birds and 35 species of animals were contained in the animal park. Animals as contained in the zoo and living in the surrounding area of the city of Novosibirsk were the objects of research schoolers and research workers of the animal park. Only in the 50-ies of XX century in Novosibirsk has begun construction of the zoo on the basis of the animal park. In the 90 years the zoo was moved to the territory Zaeltsovsky Park and the collection of the zoo was presented by 423 animal species, 9906 specimens at the 2000 year.
Currently, Novosibirsk Zoo occupies an area of 60 hectares and is the largest in Russia. The Novosibirsk Zoo contains more than 10 000 individuals of 756 species of animals. More than 350 species are listed in the International Red Book, Red Book of Russia and Novosibirsk region. Collective of the Zoo participates in 67 international programs for the conservation of rare and endangered species of animals. In the Novosibirsk Zoo assembled one of the world's finest collections of felines and mustelids. Zoo is a member of 3 international unions: EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquariums), EARAZA (Euro-Asian Regional Association of Zoos and Aquaria), and IAZA (International Association of Zoos and Aquariums). Also Zoo participates in the international computer program ISIS.
Snow leopard has become an emblem of the Novosibirsk Zoo it is a unique by its beauty and grace an animal that has survived only in Siberia in the Altai Mountains.
In total, the Novosibirsk Zoo has contacts with more than 150 zoos in 44 countries. Since 1989, it produced more than 100 exchanges of animals with foreign partners in 25 countries.
Also in the Novosibirsk Zoo is located one of the stations of the Children's Railway. Length of Novosibirsk children's railway is 5300 meters. There are three stations: Zaeltsovskiy Park, Sportivnaya and Zoo. There are three trains plying simultaneously on Children's railway.
In the global ranking Novosibirsk Zoo occupies 18-th place, ranked in the top 10 of European zoos, and is the best in Russia for many years. In 2008, the Novosibirsk Zoo was a finalist of contest "Seven Wonders of Russia". Each year, the zoo is visiting 1.4 million people.
The zoo is located in Zaeltsovsky Park Street. Timiryazeva 71/1
By Trolley bus №2 from the bus stop "Railway station-chief" or "Circus" to bus stop "Zoo"
On minibus Taxi №1128 from the bus stop "Pedagogical Institute» to the bus stop "Zoo"
From the Kalinin Square by all modes of transport to bus stop "Planovaya".
Phone: 7 (383) 220 97 79
Mode of operation of the zoo
In the summer from 9:00 to 21:00 (ticket office till 20-00)
Spring / autumn from 9-00 to 20-00 (cash till 19-00)
In winter, from 9:00 to 18:00 (ticket office till 17-00)
Daily, without weekends.
“Red Torch” Theatre
The Novosibirsk Drama Theater "Red Torch" is one of the leading theaters in the city of Novosibirsk. The theater was founded in 1920 in Odessa, and then moved to the Capital of Siberia in 1932. "Red Torch" first played in Novosibirsk, in their new stage in November 1, 1932. In the summer of 1953 the Theater had a triumphant tour in Moscow, after which for "Red Torch" was fixed as a high ranking "Siberian MkhAT". This became known as a great success for the ensemble of artists and filmmakers. Together they created a theater of high scenic culture and subtle artistic taste, where the main attention was paid to the Russian classics. Despite the increased interest in the modern genre, there remains a lot of classics on the stage of "Red Torch" in the 60s. In 2001, "Red Torch" established and for the first time has spent on its stage the First festival "Siberian Transit" and became a member and co-founder of the Second, Third and Fourth festivals. Prize named Redlich for the best actor work, was established by the theater within the framework of "Siberian Transit”, and intended to preserve the memory of the creative heritage of the theaters of Siberia, to support their best traditions in the entire theatrical space of the region.
Today the repertoire of “Red Torch” is presented by best examples of both classical and acute experimental global drama. Most years, the theater presents unique projects or nation-wide premiere of the plays.
Performances of "Red Torch" has repeatedly been awarded various prizes, three of them were nominated for the National Theatre Award "Golden Mask". "Red Torch" with its performances participates in five European festivals in the second half of the 90s.
The building of the "Red Torch" is of historical and architectural significance. It was designed by famous Novosibirsk architect Andrey Kryuchkova and built in 1914 as the Merchants' Assembly (or Commercial Club) in a complex empire style with elements of Art Nouveau and the Russian style. It was the biggest and the most beautiful hall in the city, where major cultural events occurred, along with tours, concerts and performances of amateur groups. One of the first major buildings constructed in Novosibirsk, it remains one of the most interesting and beautiful. In 1918 the building became known as the "House of the Revolution." Here were housed Soviet of Workers, Soldiers 'and Peasants' Deputies and the city headquarter of the Red Guard. Since 1923, it continues performances of the city's "Palace of Culture" functions (called at the time "The Working Palace").
The Novosibirsk Academy of Water Transport
This palace was built as a labor union center, where workers could solve their immediate problems. It was built in 1926 in the spirit of revolutionary romanticism. It was designed as a single complex with a cinema "Proletkino" (now the cinema "Victory"). It was assumed that an aerial view together they will look like the hammer and sickle, but the project was not completed. The 3-storey building was reconstructed and overbuilt in 1936 with classical elements and stucco reliefs, representing the popular professions of that time. Initially, stairs of the palace were decorated with sculpture of Lenin. Then, in connection with the reconstruction of the monument it was moved and mounted on a pedestal in front. Now it resides inside the building of the Academy of Water Transport.
The building of the Academy of Water Transport is an architectural monument of Constructivism.
In the square in front of the Academy stands a monument to Lenin. This is the first monument to the leader of the revolution in Novosibirsk. It is located inside the district in the historic center of the city. This monument to Lenin was cast in bronze and was originally the sculpture was made for the purpose of setting it in front of Smolny Palace in St. Petersburg. But in 1927 it was installed in Novosibirsk in the honor of the 10th anniversary of the October Revolution. This sculpture was placed on the pedestal from red Sayan granite on the main stairs of the Palace of Labor.
In 1950, the Lenin monument was moved to the square in front the Novosibirsk State Academy of Water Transport. The sculpture was placed facing the facade the Academy.
This lake of incredible beauty called Karachi is located in the Novosibirsk region, in the heart of an ecologically clean area of the Baraba steppe. Its length is 2.5 kilometers and a width of approximately 1.5 kilometers. On the southern shore of the lake towers traditional Russian birches. Reflected in the lake, they are fascinating by their beauty. On the north side there are fruit and berry plantings, what seems quite unusual. It is especially delightful to watch the lake in the early morning and late evening! It is during this time of day, you can see how it changes color and becomes pink. It is said this is due to the fact that the water is salty. There is another version: Lake Karachi acquires such color due to the huge amount of crustaceans which densely inhabits it. Thanks to the sunlight it possible to see flocks of these crustaceans, floating right on the surface. It appears that is a huge aquarium in front of you.
In the area of this beautiful body of water there is a legend. As if the name of the lake has got from assistant Kuchum Khan - Karachi Murzas Kadir Ali Beg, who was able to gain the confidence of the Yermak and the last one sent a rescue squad to him. However, the wily Murza lured into a trap Ermak's detachment and destroyed him. Ermak was angered by the meanness and with his army defeated a detachment of Khan Kuchum. Khan fled to the area of the lake and hid there. The lake was called "Salt water" at that time and now it named "Karachi" in honor of Khan, who was found here upon his death.
In 1889, the Lake become a resort area as a mud and spa resort. In Karachi, the lake has curative muds, which are rarely found in other similar resorts not only in Russia but also in the world. Lake's mud has almost miraculous therapeutic properties. It improves blood and lymph circulation, metabolism and additional healthful properties. In addition, located here are the Karachinskaya mineral waters, which are also very helpful.
Tourists, who visit this stunning piece of nature, can improve their health and enjoy the beauty of real Siberia and feel the kindness of the local people. For the convenience of tourists there is a sanatorium on the lake shore, hotel, restaurants and a medical center.
Salairsky Ridge is a plateau-like elevation in the mountains of Southern Siberia, located in the Altai Territory, Kemerovo and Novosibirsk regions. At the end of the XVIII century Salair ridge was seen as part of the Altai. Later, as the Kuznetsky Alatau Salairsky ridge received from the Russians original name Kuznetsk mountain. The length Salair Ridge from North to South is about 300 kilometers, the width is 15-40 kilometers. The Ridge is strongly smoothened, its average height of a little less than 400 meters above sea level. Salair Ridge is low in altitude as it does not have snowfields and mountain lakes, however, it originates several rivers flowing to the east in the Inya and to the west in Berd and Chumysh, and the Chumysh starts into Salair.
The Salairsky Ridge and surrounding areas are quite rich in minerals. The surroundings of the Village Peteni is well known in the Novosibirsk region for quarry marble. A view of quarry is rather peculiar, it’s benched. Special equipment cuts the marble blocks from the general array of stone. The Marble of Petenevskoe field has a unique and distinct color and is known for its quality. Because of its impressive appearance and the scale of the quarry has become one of the most interesting attractions within the area. But Salair is most known by its placer gold. Almost all rivers of ridge are auriferous. The native population has long been was engaged in prospect for gold. The historic center of gold mining on Salair it is Egoryevskoe village, which situated in the picturesque Suengi Valley.
In remote places, the Salair Ridge provides the preserved and impassable dense taiga, consisting of fir and aspen. These dark coniferous forests in Siberia are called black taiga. One of the fir forest islands is located in the nature monument, "Black forests of Salair". In Salair, there are a number of plants rare to the Siberia region. The fauna of Salair is also rich in bears, mooses, wolves, lynx, hares and many others. Also home to numerous species of birds and insects. A grayling inhabits in Salair Rivers.
The Nature of these stunningly beautiful places in Salair impresses with its savagery at any time of the year. On the territory of the Novosibirsk Region at present is a number of protected areas where hunting and fishing is prohibited.
In the territory of the modern town Suzun, are preserved ancient buildings of a copper smelter with Mint, dam, pond and historical layout of the settlement. This is a unique object of history of Siberia. The Mint in Suzun was the only one from the Ural Mountains to the Pacific Coast. Throughout the century, they have minted coins from the Siberian copper. Stone walls and ditches, along with the place of extraction of ore are witnesses of the events XVII-XVIII centuries.
The village of Suzun is one of the oldest settlements of the Novosibirsk Region. Its origin is connected with the activities of metallurgical enterprises in the Altai and in the territory of the modern Novosibirsk Region. Along with the Suzun, it was associated with the beginning of the coinage of special Siberian coins, made from the local gold, silver and copper in the Altai. In 1764, on the banks of the River Bottom Suzun began the construction of the eponymous copper smelter and Mint. Siberia was suffering from a shortage of coins and merchants in their calculations were often forced to use a barter payment. The Plant and Mint came into use in 1766. Next to the factory was a large settlement, inhabited by artisians, with factory buildings and the mint, the settlement strengthening its rampart with a wooden palisade. The Siberian Coin is different from other coins by its appearance. It was originally larger in size and on the front side in the frame of the laurel and palm branches were placed the Monogram of Catherine II, symbolized by the letter "E" and the Roman Numeral II. On the reverse side of the coins of all denominations, except polushka (a penny) was the emblem of Siberia; two sables holding in forepaws, topped with a crown oval shield with the symbol of coin's value. The whole composition was ringed with the inscription, "Siberian Coin". After 1781, the Suzun Mint began making copper coins, destributed nationwide. The Suzunsky Plant and the Mint were highest in quantity specific to the scale of production.
Everyone can learn about the history of the Suzun Mint in the local museum. The museum is located in the former building of manager of Smelter and Mint. Among the more than 1,000 exhibits, the most valuable are connected with the plant. In the "Suzun-Factory" Hall, visitors can see the original parts of the first Russian turbine, made in 1806 by a local inventor P. Zalesov. The special pride of the Museum is the Siberian coins from the collections of numismatics. The Smelter and home of the factory manager have the status of architectural and historical monuments.
The Belovo Waterfall in the Novosibirsk Region is an amazing place. The waterfall is located in the Iskitim area near the Village of Belovo and is unique in that it is located the plains area. The distance from the Fall to Novosibirsk is about 100 km. The source of the Belovo Waterfall is a rather deep lake, the site of which was formerly a quarry, where coal was mined. Ground waters are constantly washing away the quarry and the workers were forced to leave the pit as a result of it. They built the Dam, which blocked the rapid flow, but over time it became old and fell under the onslaught of water.
The Lake is fed from several small rivers and the water level is rising. The excess water flows over a huge pile of stones, forming a waterfall. The Waterfall is surrounded by a picturesque birch forest and is one of the most picturesque places in this part of the Novosibirsk Region. In spite of the strong flow, the water below the falls is warm enough for swimming. There is also a place for fishing enthusiast where Perch and Chebak are caught. This location is popular to both locals and visitors. The area around the Waterfall is surrounded with small, sharp stones and is dangerous to walk barefoot. For this adventure, special rubber footwear is recommend.
The majority of the tourists visiting the Falls, definitely plan to return to it again and again. Everyone is attracted by this clean and picturesque Lake, quiet glades and the unforgettable hydro massage under the Waterfall.